

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF ANIMAL SCIENCE

Armstrong Leadership Award

Name of Award: The American Society of Animal Science Armstrong Leadership Award.

Nature of Award: A plaque.

Purpose: To recognize the achievement of an outstanding early career professional (within 10 years of receiving a Ph.D. in animal science) who displays exceptional leadership within ASAS.

Eligibility for Nomination: Primary award criteria involve service to ASAS, the affiliated sections, the ASAS Foundation and other ASAS activities, including but not limited to serving as officers, board members, standing or special committee members (especially as chair), meeting or symposia planners, annual meeting assistance, editorial committee, or serving as a judge and participation in the Academic Quadrathlon. The candidate must have at least three (3) consecutive years of membership in ASAS and be within ten (10) years of having received their Ph.D. in animal science at the time the application is due. This award is open to all disciplines and areas, including academic, research, industry and government. There are no restrictions on the country of residence. This award is specifically intended to recognize service to ASAS.

Dossier must include the following materials:

- CV/Biography of the nominee.
- A summary of leadership activity and work within ASAS, noting the skillset(s) gained and the impact this service has had on ASAS and its members (not to exceed 2000 characters and spaces).
- Letters of support from three (3) members of ASAS. Support letters that demonstrate the leadership skills and service to ASAS of the candidate should be considered, including individuals who have served with the candidate on ASAS activities. Letters of support from other than the nominee's supervisor(s) and from outside the nominee's institution(s) may be helpful.
- Citation for printing and reading (not to exceed 1000 characters and spaces).
- Photo of nominee (photo will only be used in the awards program and will not be visible to the award review committee).

Award Selection Committee: The committee will include three (3) ASAS Past Presidents and the most recent Past President will chair the committee. As Past President's and founding donors for this Award, Dwight Armstrong, Jeffrey Armstrong and Todd Armstrong are not eligible to serve on the selection committee.

Sponsored by: Armstrong Leadership Fund