Fund Detail

H. Allen Tucker was a distinguished professor at Michigan State University for 38 years. He is renowned for scholarly contributions to the endocrine control of lactation, mammogenesis, and body growth in cattle. He investigated basic biological events to create applications for livestock. In 388 scientific publications, he reported virtually all of the data that his group ever generated. In addition, peers awarded him nearly $4.5 million in competitive grants. Tucker was recognized for research with the Cyanamid Physiology Award in 1983 and the Morrison Award in 1997. For Tucker, research was a venue in which to train students to use the scientific method and to think critically. In seminars to propose research, most students failed the Tucker "so what" test of significance only once. Peer review was encouraged to enhance quality of work. He embellished strengths and reduced weaknesses of individual students in a powerful group atmosphere. In 1987, Tucker received the L. E. Casida Award for excellence in graduate training. Tucker served on many grant review panels and editorial boards. For the Journal of Animal Science, he served several terms on the editorial board and as section editor for physiology from 1986 to 1989. He had a passionate commitment that animal scientists must be progressive and advance knowledge. Tucker has expanded biological knowledge, he was a profound and enduring mentor, and his service to ASAS is distinguished.

The H. Allen Tucker Fund supports a yearly travel scholarship and the H. Allen Tucker Lactation Physiology Award.

Value of club as of 1/2017: $51,262

The requirements for the Allen Tucker Graduate Student Travel Scholarship can be found here.

The requirements for the H. Allen Tucker Lactation and Endocrinology Award can be found here.

2014 Recipient of the H. Allen Tucker Lactation Physiology Award:
Dr. Steven Zinn, University of Connecticut

2012 Recipient of the H. Allen Tucker Travel Scholarship:

Monica VanKlompenberg, University of California, Davis

2011 Recipient of the H. Allen Tucker Travel Scholarship:
Maria Procopio, University of Connecticut

2011 Recipient of the H. Allen Tucker Lactation Physiology Award:
Russ Hovey, University of California, Davis

2010 Recipient of the H. Allen Tucker Travel Scholarship:
Katherine C.P. May, Oregon State University

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below