September 09, 2013

Northeast Section ASAS 2013 Annual Report

The Northeast Section of the American Society of Animal Science continues to operate in cooperation with the Northeast Branch of the American Dairy Science Association.  The President of the Section is Matt Wilson from West Virginia University, the Vice President is Lisa Holden from the Pennsylvania State University and the secretary/treasurer is Ken Griswold from Kemin Industries.  The section met at the ASAS 2012 National Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.  Tom Hoagland from the University of Connecticut is serving as the Director of the Northeast Section.

At the Phoenix Meeting the Northeast Section sponsored a symposium titled ‘The Future of Animal Agriculture Programs in the Northeast in the Face of Reducing Animal Holdings on Campus’.  This symposium was well attended and a lively question and answer session occurred.  Shortly after the symposium, the Section held an awards reception.  The Young Scientist Award was presented to William Burt Staniar of the Pennsylvania State University.  The winners of the graduate student abstract competition were also announced. First place went to Chanhee Lee of Pennsylvania University, second to Melissa Rokosa of the University of Connecticut and third to Sarita Neupane of the University of Connecticut.  Heather Dann from Miner Institute was recognized for her service to the region as the outgoing president.

The Northeast Section continues to meet at the National Meeting and will hosted a graduate student abstract presentation competition to be held on Wednesday July 10th at 11 am in the Convention Center room 103.  The Section also sponsored a symposium titled ‘Optimal Land Use for Northeast Farms: Growing crops and feeding animals’.  The symposium was  held Thursday the 11th at 2 pm in the Convention Center room 107.