July 25, 2016

New board members named at ASAS business meeting

2016 presidents

(Left to right): Dr. Steven Zinn (ASAS President-Elect), Dr. Deb Hamernik (ASAS President), Dr. Michael Looper (ASAS Past President)

July 25, 2016 – The American Society of Animal Science (ASAS) announced its new President-Elect, three new Directors-at-Large, and new Graduate Director during the society’s business meeting in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Your new ASAS board members are:

President-Elect – Dr. Steven A. Zinn, University of Connecticut

Director-at-Large – Dr. Joel S. Caton, North Dakota State University

Director-at-Large – Dr. Kristen A. Johnson, Washington State University

Director-at-Large – Dr. William C. Weldon, Elanco Animal Health

Graduate Director – Ms. Kelsey Phelps, Kansas State University

Northeastern Section Director – Dr. Kristen Govoni, University of Connecticut

Southern Section Director – Dr. Matthew H. Poore, North Carolina State University

Western Section Director – Dr. Glenn Duff, New Mexico State University


Board members began their term Saturday, July 23. President-Elect and Directors-at-Large will serve three-year terms, while the Graduate Director will serve a two-year term.


Thank you to our retiring board directors for their service:

President – Dr. Michael L. Looper, University of Arkansas

Past President – Dr. Debra K. Aaron, University of Kentucky

Program Director and Director-at-Large – Dr. Shawn L. Archibeque, Colorado State University

Northeastern Section Director and Director-at-Large – Dr. Thomas A. Hoagland, University of Connecticut

Southern Section Director – Dr. Russ B. Muntifering, Auburn University

Western Section Director – Dr. Jack C. Whittier, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Director-at-Large – Dr. Connie K. Larson, Zinpro Corporation

Director-at-Large – Dr. Elisabeth J. Lonergan, Iowa State University

Graduate Director – Mr. Kyle J. McLean, North Dakota State University