July 10, 2017

Congratulations to our 2017 award winners

ASAS honored more than 35 individuals during its Awards Ceremony on July 9 in Baltimore, Maryland. Please join ASAS in congratulating the award winners listed below.

Individual citations and photos of all award winners will follow in upcoming issues of Taking Stock. Be sure to visit the ASAS Facebook page for photos from the Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to our 2017 award winners!


Morrison Award:  Dr. Ronnie D. Green, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Fellow Awards: 

Dr. Tom J. Baas, Iowa State University

Dr. George C. Fahey, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Peter J. Hansen, University of Florida

Dr. Michael D. MacNeil, Delta G

Dr. Doug F. Parrett, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Steven P. Washburn, North Carolina State University

Dr. Gary L. Williams, Texas A&M University

ASAS President’s Award for International Achievements in Animal Science:  Dr. Rupert Bruckmaier, University of Bern

AFIA Award in Nonruminant Nutrition Research:  Dr. Sung Woo Kim, North Carolina State University

AFIA Award in Ruminant Nutrition Research:  Dr. Luis O. Tedeschi, Texas A&M University

Extension Award:   Dr. John F. Patience, Iowa State University

Distinguished Teacher Award:  Dr. William L. Flowers, North Carolina State University

Rockefeller Prentice Award in Animal Breeding and Genetics:  Dr. Archie C. Clutter, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Gary L. Cromwell Award for Research in Minerals:  Dr. Xingen Lei, Cornell University

Animal Physiology and Endocrinology Award: Dr. Andrea S. Cupp, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Animal Management Award:  Dr. Rick N. Funston, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Animal Industry Service Award:  Dr. Darrh K. Bullock, University of Kentucky

Bouffault International Animal Agriculture Award:  Dr. Curtis R. Youngs, Iowa State University

Animal Growth and Development Award:  Dr. Min Du, Washington State University

Corbin Companion Animal Biology Award: Dr. Lisa K. Karr, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Equine Science Award: Dr. Paul D. Siciliano, North Carolina State University

Meats Research Award:  Dr. Frank R. Dunshea, University of Melbourne 

Agri-King Outstanding Animal Science Graduate Student Award:  Jordan Thomas, University of Missouri

ASAS Early Career Achievement Award: 

Dr. Greg B. Penner, University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Ryan N. Dilger, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Stephanie L. Hansen, Iowa State University

Josie Coverdale Equine Science Scholarship Award: Lauren Hodge, Mississippi State University

L.E. Casida Award: Dr. Janice M. Bahr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Joseph P. Fontenot Appreciation Club Travel Scholarships:

Erin Deters, Iowa State University

Evan Knutson, North Dakota State University

Lyndsey Ratcliffe, Bioscience Research Institute

H. Allen Tucker Lactation and Endocrinology Award: 

Dr. Geoffrey E. Dahl, University of Florida

Dr. Rupert Bruckmaier, University of Bern

Wilson G. Pond International Travel Awards: 

Dr. Alison Ward, North Dakota State University

Ananda Fontoura, North Dakota State University

Diego M. D. L. Navarro, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Matthew Crouse, North Dakota State University

FASS-AFIA Frontiers in Animal Nutrition Award:  Dr. Xingen Lei, Cornell University (award given during the Opening Session)