April 29, 2019

2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee

2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee members come together to review the latest nutritional research

A new group of nutrition experts have been named to the 2020 Dietary Guidelines Advisory Committee. The committee, which is formed by the United States Departments of Agriculture (USDA) and Health and Human Services (HHS) every five years, aims to answer scientific questions from the departments and provide a report to help inform the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans.

As it does every five years, the 2020-2025 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, will have far-reaching consequences for Americans. The document is ultimately used to guide federal nutritional meals programs used by schools, nursing homes and even the military.

“USDA is committed to ensuring everything we do is data-driven and based in scientific facts, which is why this expert committee’s work in objectively evaluating the science is of the utmost importance to the departments and to this process,” said Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue in a press release. “The committee will evaluate existing research and develop a report objectively, with an open mind.”

The 2020 committee is chaired by Barbara O. Schneeman, Ph.D., professor emerita of the University of California, Davis, Department of Nutrition. Ron Kleinman, M.D., physician-in-chief of MassGeneral Hospital for Children and chief of Partners Pediatrics, will serve as vice chair.

The committee includes ASAS member Teresa Davis, Ph.D., a professor of pediatrics at the USDA/ARS Children’s Nutrition Research Center at the Baylor College of Medicine. Davis also serves as editor-in-chief of The Journal of Nutrition and director of the Children's Nutrition Research Center Postdoctoral Fellowship Program.

The committee held their first public meeting from March 28–29 in Washington, D.C. The public can submit comments throughout the Committee’s deliberations through a regulations.gov form.

Read more:

Full list of 2020 committee members

Topics and questions to be reviewed by the Committee