Featured Articles

Agricultural Statistics Advisory Committee Established

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) National Agricultural Statistics Service announced the members appointed to the Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics. USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue appointed 22 members to serve, drawing on the experience and expertise of its members to form a ruling concerning agricultural data collected and the statistics issued by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. The Advisory Committee on Agriculture Statistics was re-established by a charter issued on Feb. 7, 2019

The committee advises the Secretary on surveys of agriculture and other related surveys, the periodic Census of Agriculture, and the types of agricultural information to obtain from respondents. The Committee also prepares recommendations regarding the content of agricultural reports and presents the views and needs for data of suppliers and users of agriculture statistics.

Members of the Committee have a broad range of knowledge and interest in, though not limited to, agricultural economics, rural sociology, farm policy analysis, and agricultural education. Members represent a range of organizations to include state and local governments, agriculture-related industries, trade or marketing associations, major national farm organizations, and producer groups. The Advisory Committee members will serve two-year terms, as per the Committee charter.

Congratulations to the Advisory Committee members listed below.

  • Mr. John Armstrong, Muscotah, KS
  • Ms. Kellie Bray, Alexandria, VA
  • Dr. Keith Coble, Starkville, MS
  • Mr. Benjamin Duncanson, Washington, DC
  • Mr. Mark Hodges, Tuttle, OK
  • Dr. William Lazarus, Shoreview, MN
  • Mr. Sig Lindquist, Chetek, WI
  • Dr. Marvin Miller, Wheaton, IL
  • Ms. Juli Obudzinski, Washington, DC
  • Dr. Mykel Taylor, Wamego, KS
  • Mr. Jeff Witte, Las Cruces, NM
  • Ms. Kim Brackett, Homedale, ID
  • Mr. Don Close, Wildwood, MO
  • Ms. Jennifer Dempsey, Amherst, MA
  • Ms. Megan Hedges, Chester, MT
  • Ms. Elaine Kub, Roscoe, SD
  • Dr. Virginia Lesser, Corvallis, OR
  • Ms. Katelyn McCullock, Highland Ranch, CO
  • Dr. John Newton, Washington, DC
  • Mr. Scott Sheely, Lancaster, PA
  • Mr. Eric Wade, Lubbock, TX
  • Mr. Skip Wright-Clark, Wilson, WY