Board of Directors

ASAS Board of Directors

Presidents                                                                                                 

Board Portal                 

Zinn

President

Dr. Steven A. Zinn
University of Connecticut
Dept of Animal Science Unit 4040
3636 Horsebarn Rd Ext
Storrs, CT 06269-4040
Work: (860) 486-0861
steven.zinn@uconn.edu

Armstrong

President-Elect

Dr. Todd A. Armstrong 
Elanco Animal Health 
2500 Innovation Way 
Greenfield, IN 46140-9163 
Work: (317) 655-0957 
tarmstrong@lilly.com

Hamernik

Past President

Dr. Debora Hamernik
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Agricultural Research Division
207 Ag Hall
PO Box 830704
Lincoln, NE 68583-0704
Work: (402) 472 - 2045
dhamernik2@unl.edu

Additional Members of Executive Committee

Aaron_D

Foundation Trustee Chair

Dr. Debra Aaron
University of Kentucky
Dept of Animal Science
208 W. P. Garrigus Building
Lexington, KY 40546-0215
Work: (859) 257-7553
daaron@uky.edu

Sartin

Editor-in-Chief 

Dr. James Sartin
ASAS
PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826-7410
Work: (334) 740-0942
jsartin@asas.org

Tokach

 

Recording Secretary/ Director-at-Large (2018)

Dr. Mike Tokach
Kansas State University
Department of Animal Science and Industry
246 Weber Hall
1424 Claflin Road
Manhattan, KS 66506
Work: (785) 532 - 2032
mtokach@k-state.edu

Johnson_S

Vice Program Chair (2017-2018) / Director-at-Large (2018)

Dr. Sally E. Johnson
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Department of Animal and Poultry Sciences
3070 Litton - Reaves Hall
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0306
Work: (540) 231-0776
sealy@vt.edu

Johnson_K

Finance Committee Chair (2018)/ Director-at-Large (2019)

Dr. Kristen A. Johnson
Washington State University
Animal Science/126 ASLB
PO Box 646351
Pullman, WA 99164-6351 
Work: (509) 335-4131
johnsoka@wsu.edu

Kelgley_B

Program Chair (2017-2018)

Dr. Elizabeth B. Kegley
University of Arkansas
Dept of Animal Science
Rm B114, AFLS
Fayetteville, AR 72701
Work: (479) 575-3050
ekegley@uark.edu

Additional Board Members

Dilger_R

Midwest Section Director (2020)

Dr. Ryan N. Dilger
University of Illinois
1207 W Gregory Dr
186 Animal Science Lab
Urbana, IL 61801-4733
Work: (217) 333-2006
rdilger2@illinois.edu

Govoni

 

Northeastern Section Director (2019)

Dr. Kristen E. Govoni
University of Connecticut
Dept of Animal Science
3636 Horsebarn Rd Extension
Unit 4040 
Storrs, CT 06269-4040
Work: (860) 486-2480
kristen.govoni@uconn.edu


Poore

Southern Section Director (2019) 

Dr. Matthew H. Poore
North Carolina State University
Box 7621
Raleigh, NC 27695-7621
Work: (919) 515-7798
Matt_Poore@ncsu.edu


Duff_G

Western Section Director (2019) 

Dr. Glenn C. Duff
New Mexico State University
MSC 3-I P.O. Box 30003
Las Cruces, NM 88003-30003
Work: (575) 646-5279
glennd@nmsu.edu

Farmer

Director-at-Large (2020)

Dr. Chantal Farmer
AAFC
Dairy and Swine R & D Centre
2000 College St.
Sherbrooke, PQ J1M 0C8
Canada
Work: (819) 780-7222
chantal.farmer@agr.gc.ca

Hansen_P

Director-at-Large (2020)

Dr. Peter J. Hansen, PhD
University of Florida
PO Box 110910
Gainesville, FL 32611-0910
Work: (352) 392-5590
Hansen@animal.ufl.edu

Rathje_T

Director-at-Large (2020)

Dr. Thomas A. Rathje
DNA Genetics
2415 13th St
Columbus, NE 68601-5005
Work: (888) 326-2733 (300)
trathje@dnaswinegenetics.com

Cassady

Director-at-Large (2018)

Dr. Joseph P. Cassady
South Dakota State University
Department of Animal Science
Box 2170
Brookings, SD 57007
Work: (605) 688 - 5165
joseph.cassady@sdstate.edu

Caton

Director-at-Large (2019)

Dr. Joel Caton
North Dakota State University
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Work: (701) 231-7653
joel.caton@ndsu.edu

Weldon

Director-at-Large (2019)

Dr. William Weldon
Weldon Consulting
7478 N Troy Rd
Greenfield, IN 46140-0708
Work: (317) 997-1516
wcweldon@gmail.com

National Graduate Director

Phelps

Graduate Director (2018)

Dr. Kelsey Phelps Ronningen
Cargill Protein
300 W 1st. St.
Wichita, KS 67226
Work: (316) 858-5145
Kelsey_Phelps_Ronningen@cargill.com


Engle_B

Graduate Director (2019)

Bailey Engle
Department of Animal Science
2471 TAMU
College Station, TX 77845
bnengle@tamu.edu

ASAS Staff

Wulster-Radcliffe

Chief Executive Officer (ex-officio)

Meghan Wulster-Radcliffe, M.S, Ph.D
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826
Cell phone: 217-621-4623
Email: meghanwr@asas.org

Hemmelgarn_J

Chief Operations Officer (ex-officio)

Jacelyn Hemmelgarn
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826-7410
Cell phone: 217-898-6585
Email: jacelynh@asas.org

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below