National Committees

Board at Meeting

ASAS Committees

ASAS has five types of committees or special representative assignments: 1) Board Committees, 2) General Committees/Working Groups, 3) Special Representative appointments to other groups, 4) Awards Committees and 5) Annual Meeting Program Committees. Each type of committee or special representative appointment provides a chance to contribute to the society and to become involved in the society leadership.

Committee assignments are for three years and committee terms are for July to July. Please contact us at throughout the year if you are interested in serving on committees. We try to ensure that anyone interested in serving on a committee has that opportunity.


Board committees, are committees made up of board members. These committees may be defined within the by-laws or be a special board designated committee.

Executive Committee
NM - G.C. Duff (Chair)
AR - E.B. Kegley
KS - M.D. Tokach
IN - W.C. Weldon
CO - S.L. Archibeque
CT -  K.E. Govoni
GA - J.A. Daniel
IL - M.C. Wulster-Radcliffe*
IL - J.E. Bartlett*

Finance Committee
IN - W.C. Weldon (Chair)
NM - G.C. Duff
KS - M.D. Tokach
AR - E.B. Kegley
CO - S.L. Archibeque
OK - D.L. VanOverbeke
KY - R.D. Coffey
IL - M.C. Wulster-Radcliffe*

ASAS Membership Committee
SD - K.M. Cammack (Chair)
NM - G.C. Duff 
KS - M.D. Tokach
VI - R.W. Godfrey
CT - K.E. Govoni
MN - T.L. Ward
TX - T.H. Welsh
NM - E.J. Scholljegerdes
TX - J.R. Hall
NM - E. Melchior
IL - J.E. Bartlett*
IL - M.E. Burnett*


General Committees/Working Groups (2020-2021)

General committees/working groups are generally formed for topics or programming important to the membership. These committees are made up of a combination of general membership and board members. The yearly expectations for these committees are described in the committee assignment documents.

ASAS Publications Committee
CT - K.E. Govoni  (Chair)
AR - E.B. Kegley
TX - C.A. Gill
GA - J. A. Daniel
OK - A.P. Foote
OK - S.A. Gunter
AL - J.L. Sartin
ND - K.C. Swanson
VA - S.E. Johnson
CA - J.W. Oltjen
IL - M.C. Wulster-Radcliffe*

ASAS Public Policy Committee
TX – T.A. Davis (Chair)
CO – S.L. Archibeque
WY - K.M. Cammack
TX - H.R. Cross
VI - R.W. Godfrey
AL - D.R. Mulvaney
VA - L.W. Randel
ND - L.P. Reynolds
TX - P.K. Riggs
DC - W.B. Smith
MI - J.C. Swanson
TX - D.R. Tolleson
IL - M.C. Wulster-Radcliffe*


ASAS Nominating Committee
AR - E.B. Kegley
MN - T.L. Ward
NM - G.C. Duff
CT - K.E. Govoni
TX - T.H. Welsh
KY - R.D. Coffey
NM - E.J. Scholljegerdes 
WA- M.E. Benson

ASAS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
CO - S.L. Archibeque
AL - O.U. Bolden-Tiller
IN - C.C. Croney
NC - R. Ekmay
GA - F.L. Fluharty
IA - A.L. Fordyce
TX - A. Garcia-Marquez

Special Representatives (2018-2019)

Special representatives are usually joint members between the two societies represented and work to keep the two societies updated.

Assn. for Assessment & Accreditation of Lab. Animal Care Int
IL- J. Salak-Johnson

American Association for the Advancement of Science Council
TX - P.K. Riggs

American Feed Industry Association Nutrition Council
KY–G. L. Cromwell

American Registry of Professional Animal Scientists
NE- J. C. Whittier

American Society of Agronomy
WI–E. G. Bergfeld

British Society of Animal Science
C. Reynolds


Council for Agricultural Science and Technology
NM- G. Duff

European Assoc. for Animal Production
AL- J. Sartin

Latin American Association of Animal Production
NE–E. Casas
NV–L. Gomez-Raya

Mexican Association for Animal Science
Mexico–G. Villalobos

Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization
CT - T. Hogland

Society for Range Management
TX - D.R. Tolleson

World Association of Animal Production
AL- J. L. Sartin

Annual Meeting Program Committees (2020-2021)

ASAS Annual Meeting Program Committees propose symposia, review abstracts, and help fundraise for the meeting.

*Designated Chair

Overall Programming Committee

CO - S. Archibeque*
ND - J. Caton
OK - A. Foote
MN - A. Wertz-Lutz
MN - T. Ward
KY - R. Coffey
CANADA - F. Schenkel
CANADA - M. Jafarikia
NM - G. Duff
IL - M.C. Wulster-Radcliffe

Animal Behavior & Well-Being

TX - C.L. Daigle*
TX - A. Garcia-Marquez
CO - L. Edwards-Callaway

Animal Breeding and Genetics

NE - T.A. Rathje*
S Korea - C. Jayanath Gajaweera
WA - Z. Jiang
CANADA - C. Baes

Animal Health

CANADA - E.M. Ibeagha-Awemu*
TX - J.W. Johnson
IN - S. Crowder

Beef Species

TX - B.P. Holland*
TX - S. Trojan
FL - R. Mateescu

Companion Animal

CANADA - R. Donadelli*
IL - M.R. Cattai de Godoy
IL - K.S. Swanson
KS - C.G. Aldrich
IL - G.C. Fahey
TN - S.E. Kitts-Morgan
CA - K.R. Kerr
MO - B. Vester Boler
CA - M. Edwards
CANADA - A.K. Shoveller
CANADA - J. Templeman

Comparative Gut Physiology

HI - R. Jha*
CANADA - M. Steele
CO - H. Han
WI - A. Blanchard

Forages and Pastures 

AR - E.B. Kegley*
MT - S. Wyffels
TX - W.B. Smith

Growth and Development

GA - G.J. Hausman*
AL - C. Foradori
IL - A. Dilger

Horse Species

MO - R. Jacobs*
CT - S. Reed
CO - J. Bruemmer

Meat Science and Muscle Biology

GA - J. Gonzalez*
AL - J. Sawyer
CO - M. Nair

Nonruminant Nutrition

CANADA - M. Pourabedin
NC - S. Kim

Physiology & Endocrinology 

MI - J.E. Larson*
TN - Y. Chen
VA - A. Ealy
TX - N.C. Burdick Sanchez
IL - J. Loor

Production, Management & the Environment

IN - B.T. Richert*
AR - M. Looper
FL - C. Bandyk
CANADA - O. Durunna

Ruminant Nutrition

FL - M.J. Hersom*
TX - R.C. Anderson
LA - G. Scaglia
TX - W.B. Smith
CANADA - K. Plaizier

Small Ruminant (Sheep & Goat combined)

ECUADOR - C. Ponce*
FL - R. Mateescu
NE - T. Murphy

Swine Species

NC - M. Knauer*
UK - W. Li
MS - S. Liao

Teaching/Undergraduate & Graduate Education

WA - N.A. Irlbeck*
ND - C. Pickworth
KS - D. Nichols

Award Committees (2020-2021)

Award committees and participation on the committees is defined in the rules associated with an award. Award committees are posted after all nominations are received for the year, as the structure of the committee often changes to avoid conflict of interest.

CO - S.L. Archibeque
Canada - C. Baes
Australia - A.W. Bell
Canada - A. Canovas
SD - K.M. Cammack
NE - A.C. Clutter
NE - A.S. Cupp
FL - G.E. Dahl
GA - J.A. Daniel
TX - T.A. Davis
Australia - F.R. Dunshea
WA - M. Du  
NM - G.C. Duff
IN - P.D. Ebner


Argentina - C.R. Feldkamp
CO - T.E. Engle
OK - A.P. Foote
CT - K.E. Govoni
OK - S.A. Gunter
TX - J.R. Hall
MI - G.M. Hill
VA - S.E. Johnson
IL - D.F. Jones
CA - E. Kebreab
AR - E.B. Kegley
TX - C.R. Kerth
NE - C.R. Krehbiel
NE - C.A. Lents

AR - M.L. Looper
IL - J.J. Loor
NM - E.A. Melchior
Canada - F. Miglior
NC - J.A. Moore
Canada - C.M. Nyachoti
CA - J.W. Oltjen
KS - K.C. Olson
WI - J.J. Parrish
NC - M.H. Poore
AL - J.L. Sartin
NM - E.J. Scholljegerdes
NE - S.D. Shackelford
VA - K.O. Smedley

IA - K.J. Stalder
TX - L.O. Tedeschi
KS - M.D. Tokach
TX - D.R. Tolleson
CA - A.L. Van Eenennam
OK - D.L. VanOverbeke
MN- T.L. Ward
IN - W.C. Weldon
TX - T.H. Welsh
MN - A.E. Wertz-Lutz
OK - R.P. Wettemann
ID - J.V. Yelich
Canada - R.T. Ziljstra






















Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below