Fund Detail

Fund Purpose:

In 2008, the NC-42 swine nutritionists helped to establish a Memorial and Tribute Fund at the American Society of Animal Science in the name of Dr. Tim S. Stahly. The fund is designed to support the award of an Outstanding Midwest Swine Nutrition Student.

Biographical Sketch:

Dr. Tim Stahly had a successful 40 year career in non-ruminant nutrition. Throughout his career, Tim was devoted to training and mentoring the next generation of non-ruminant nutritionists.

Dr. Stahly received his education at South Dakota State University (BS and MS) and University of Nebraska (PhD). Following his PhD work, Tim began his career at University of Kentucky, Lexington where he conducted an avid research program for 16 years. He finished his career Iowa State University. He was an active member in the American Society of Animal Science, American Registry of Professional Animal Scientists, British Society of Animal Production, Council for Agricultural Science and Technology, American College of Nutrition, Gamma Sigma Delta (Honorary) and Alpha Zeta (Honorary).

Dr. Ernest R. Peo, Jr., was appointed Professor Emeritus upon his retirement from the University effective July l, 1988. Ernie served on the Animal Science faculty since 1956 and established a distinguished career in swine nutrition. After being honorably discharged from the U.S. Marine Corps in 1946, he and his wife, Mary, farmed in Oklahoma, from 1946 to 1949. In 1949, Ernie entered Syracuse University and then transferred to Oklahoma State University where he received his B.S. Degree in 1952 and a Master's Degree in beef cattle nutrition in 1953. In 1953, Dr. Peo accepted a research associate position at Iowa State University working in the swine nutrition area. He received his Ph.D. Degree in Swine Nutrition from Iowa State in 1956. After graduation, he began his long and productive career at the University of Nebraska. He has been a spokesman for animal agriculture and the University, a mentor to younger faculty and a valued counselor.

Past Award Recipients:

2023  - Madison (Madie) R. Wensley, Kansas State University
2022 - Kwangwook Kim, University of California, Davis
2021 - Amy L. Petry, Iowa State University
2020 - Michaela Trudeau, University of Minnesota
2019 - Alan Duttlinger, Purdue University
2018 - Gloria Casas-Bedoya, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2017 - Trey Kellner, Iowa State University
2016 - J. Caroline Gonzalez-Vega, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2015 - Nestor Gutierrez, Iowa State University
2014 - Nathan Horn, Purdue University
2013 - Seth Monegue, University of Kentucky
2012 - Cassandra Jones, Iowa State University
2011 - Johnathan R. Berstrom, Kansas State University
2009 - Tung Che, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below