Fund Detail

This fund was formed to recognize the contribution of Dr. Jean Claude Bouffault to international agriculture and to the American Society of Animal Science. Money from the club is used yearly to support the Bouffault International Agriculture Award. The award is given at the ASAS Annual Meeting.

Original Fund Agreement

Value of club as of 10/31/2013: $40,711

Please find the regulations for the Bouffault International Animal Agriculture Award here.

2015 Award Winner: Dr. David Notter

David Notter was born in 1950 in Gallipolis, Ohio, and grew up on a small tobacco and cattle farm. He has a B.S. degree in Animal Science from The Ohio State University, M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Nebraska, and was a faculty member at Virginia Tech until his retirement in 2010. As Emeritus Professor, he remains active in the department and continues to do applied research in quantitative genetics. Dr. Notter has made important global contributions to the characterization, conservation, appropriate use, and continuing improvement of farm animal genetic resources through diverse assignments with the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization and International Atomic Energy Agency. He mentored developing-country scientists through collaborations and cooperative research in India and Bangladesh, and recently initiated collaborations involving the genetic evaluation of sheep in Mexico and development of a breeding nucleus for alpaca in Peru.

2014 Award Winner: Dr. David R. Ledoux

Dr. David Ledoux received a BS and MS from the University of Missouri and PhD from the University of Florida. He was appointed an Assistant Professor in the Division of Animal Sciences at the University of Missouri in 1990 where he was promoted to Professor in 2003. Dr. Ledoux's research program focuses on determining the effects of mycotoxin contamination of poultry feed ingredients. He has presented his research in over 20 countries worldwide, and is a visiting lecturer at the University of Sao Paulo, Brazil. Dr. Ledoux has hosted 7 international faculty and 18 international interns in his laboratory and authored or co-authored a total of 98 refereed journal publications. Dr. Ledoux was one of the first recipients of the University of Missouri’s International Scholar Award. Dr. Ledoux has served as an Associate Editor for the Poultry Science Journal and as the Poultry Science Association’s representative on the board of the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology. Dr. Ledoux received AFIA Poultry Nutrition Research Award from the Poultry Science Association and the University of Missouri Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award.

2013 Award Winner: Xingen Lei

Xingen Lei received his B.S. and M.S. in China. He received his Ph.D. from Michigan State University. Between 2005 and 2010, Lei created the International Center of Future Agriculture for Human Health in the underdeveloped Sichuan province to improve swine and poultry production. Using pigs as a model, Lei is actively involved in biofortifying staples with iron and zinc for use by malnourished populations in Asia, Africa, South and Latin America. Lei has assisted in establishing a national team of more than 100 scientists in China to fight against micronutrient deficiencies. His dedication has immediate benefits to humankind, and is documented by 105 of his 397 publications, 30 graduate students and postdoctoral associated trained outside Cornell, and 50 international visiting scientists hosted at Cornell. Lei’s sustained passion, strong leadership, and meritorious contributions represent true “distinguished service to animal agriculture in the developing areas of the world”.

2012 Award Winner: John Mabry

Dr. Mabry’s contributions to International animal agriculture have been in developing programs that have the potential for long-term positive effects. He has worked in more than 30 countries. He has developed formal agreements with universities and government organizations from 13 different countries. These agreements include graduate education, in-service training and cooperative research programs. He has given more than 100 invited presentations at international conferences. He has been recognized with numerous college, university, and industry awards. His ability to communicate and his knowledge of production systems have allowed him to have a long-term positive impact on the animal production in numerous countries worldwide.

2011 Award Winner: Eduardo Casas

Dr. Eduardo Casas is a Research Leader at USDA/ARS/National Animal Disease Center. He received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and is recognized internationally for his research into identification of genetic markers for economically important traits in diverse breeds of cattle. He provided the first publicly accessible evaluation of genetic markers for meat tenderness in Bos indicus cattle, and translated his findings to producers worldwide with high visibility in Latin American and South American countries, providing counsel on the implementation of animal biotechnology programs to improve production efficiency of beef cattle. He served ASAS as an Editorial Board member and currently is an Associate Editor.

2010 Award Winner: Michael D. Kenealy

Michael Kenealy joined Iowa State University in 1975. He has taught over 14,000 students and was selected Teaching Fellow by ASAS. Kenealy's first international program was a study tour to China in 1982. This was only the second student team allowed full access to the rural areas of post-Mao China. He has completed education projects with Armenia, Bulgaria, China, Serbia, and Ukraine. He is most proud of the creation of BS and MS programs at the National Agricultural University of Ukraine. Kenealy has great enthusiasm for programs that enhance internationalization of both US and international students. To this end, Kenealy has led five international travel courses and hosted many international students via Iowa State University exchange programs.

2009 Award Winner: Everado Gonzalez Padilla

Everardo received his PhD from Colorado State University in 1974. In 1975, he was appointed director general of the National Institute for Livestock Research, Mexico, leading research to improve livestock production. His pioneering research on puberty, estrus synchronization, and lactation management improved bovine reproductive efficiency. As professor at the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, he supervised the graduate research of 51 students. In 2006, the Government of Mexico appointed Padilla coordinador general de ganaderia, where he is responsible for national livestock programs and agencies in Mexico. Padilla's distinguished accomplishments make him a truly deserving recipient of the 2009 Bouffault International Animal Agriculture Award.

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below