Fund Detail

The Wilson Pond Appreciation Club was formed to recognize the contribution of Dr. Wilson Pond to the field of non-ruminant nutrition and to the American Society of Animal Science. Money from the club is used to support 2 to 4 international travel funds for study by students and early career professionals.

Wilson G. Pond was born in Minneapolis, Minnesota on February 16, 1930 and was raised in Bloomington, Minnesota. He received a BS degree (1952) from the University of Minnesota and a MS degree (1954) and PhD degree (1957) from Oklahoma State University. He began his career in 1957 at Cornell University, where he served successively as assistant professor, associate professor, and professor in the Department of Animal Science with a joint appointment on the faculty of the Graduate School of Nutrition. In 1978, he was named nutrition research leader at the Roman L. Hruska US Meat Animal Research Center (Clay Center, Nebraska) and adjunct professor, Department of Animal Science, University of Nebraska, Lincoln. In 1990, he became a research animal scientist at the USDA Children’s Nutrition Research Center and adjunct professor, Department of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas. In 1997, he returned to Cornell University as a visiting professor, Department of Animal Science.

During his career, Pond has served on the graduate committee of many PhD and MS degree candidates and as supervisor of five postdoctoral fellows. His graduate and postdoctoral students have contributed to nutrition research focused on questions in commercial swine production and in use of the pig as an animal model for human nutrition.


Value of club as of 1/2017: $48,550

Requirements of the Wilson G. Pond Appreciation Club International Travel Awards:

Nature of Award: Certificate and $2,500.00 toward expenses for travel to an international meeting or training in an international venue. 

Purpose: To aid in the professional development and success of young animal scientists in an international venue. 

Time Line: Applications will be received between January 1 and February 15 of each year to cover international travel between March 1 and February 28 of a given year. 

Eligibility for Nomination: ASAS Membership for at least 12 months. Early career member defined as a member who is a student, a post doctoral fellow or within 10 years of their Ph.D. graduation date. If request is for attendance to a meeting, preference will be given to individuals giving a presentation. 

Nomination dossier must contain the following: 
A description of the meeting or training opportunity (not to exceed 2670 characters and spaces). A justification of the importance of the opportunity (not to exceed 2250 characters and spaces). A budget and listing of matching funds if expenses exceed $2,500.00. Confirmation of applicant's membership (ASAS Member ID Number). A copy of the applicant's CV. Three letters of support from any ASAS members.

Citation for printing (not to exceed 1500 characters and spaces).

2016 Travel Fund Awards:

Deidre Harmon
Faithe Keomanivong
Gloria Casas
Jill Larson
Matthew Crouse

2015 Travel Fund Awards:

Emily Otto-Tice
Matthew Asmus
Neil Jaworski

2014 Travel Fund Awards:

Laura Rortvedt-Amundson
Allison Crane
Elizabeth Latham
Jena Peine
Jolie Vega
W. Brandon Smith

2013 Travel Fund Awards:

Erin Harris
Sarah Pearce
Robin White
Andrea Hanson
Oscar Javier Rojas Martinez

2012 Travel Fund Awards:

Blair Aldridge, Purdue University
Keenan McRoberts, Cornell University
Leticia Camacho, North Dakota State University

2011 Travel Fund Awards:

Rodrigo Manjarin, Michigan State University
Erika Downey, Iowa State University
Dustin Boler, University of Illinois
Christina E. Phillips, University of Minnesota
Blaire Aldridge, Purdue University

2010 Travel Fund Awards:

Amy K. McLean, University of Wyoming
Christy Oliver, North Dakota State University
Christina E. Phillips, University of Minnesota
Christina Taylor-Edwards, US FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine

2009 Travel Fund Awards:

Ashley DeDecker, University of Illinois
Allison Meyer, North Dakota State University.

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below