Executive

New CSAS logo

Executive

President

Ronaldo Cerri, PhD
Associate Professor, Director
University of British Columbia
UBC Dairy Education and Research Centre
MacMillian 185, 2537 Main Mail
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada V6T 1Z4
Email: ronaldo.cerri@ubc.ca

Membership Committee Chair

Carl Julien, PhD
Researcher
Centre de recherche en sciences animals de Deschambault
120-A, chemin du Roy
Deschambault, Quebec, Canada, G0A 1S0
Email: carl.julien@crsad.qc.ca

President-Elect

Oscar Lopez Campos
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Lacombe Research and Development Centre
6000 C&E Trail
Lacombe, Alberta, CanadaT4L 1W1
Email: oscar.lopezcampos@agr.gc.ca

Awards Committee Chair

Obioha (Obi) Durunna, PhD
Livestock Research Scientist
Lakeland College Canada
5707 College Drive
Vermilion, Alberta, Canada T9X 1K5
Email: obioha.durunna@lakelandcollege.ca

Vice-President

Younes Miar, PhD
Assistant Professor
Industry Research Chair in Mink Genomics
Dalhousie University
Department of Animal Science and Aquaculture
Haley Institute 100-1
58 River Road
Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada B2N 5E3
Email: miar@dal.ca

Director-At-Large (Industry Rep)

Francesca Malchiodi, PhD
Research Geneticist
Semex Alliance
5653 ON-6, Guelph, Ontario N1H 6J2
Email: fmalchiodi@semex.com

Past-President

Flavio Schramm Schenkel, PhD
Professor, Director
Centre for Genetic Improvement of Livestock
Dairy Cattle Genetics and Genomics
University of Guelph
Department of Animal Biosciences
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
Email: schenkel@uoguelph.ca

Director-At-Large

Greg Penner, PhD
Associate Professor, U of S Centennial Enhancement Chair in Ruminant Nutritional Physiology
University of Saskatchewan
6D18 - Agriculture Building
Agriculture Building 51 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada S7N 5A8
Email: greg.penner@usask.ca

Secretary/Treasurer

Mohsen Jafarikia, PhD
Geneticist, Research & Development, Canadian Centre for Swine Improvement Inc.
Adjunct Professor, Department of Animal Biosciences
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada, N1G 2W1
Email: mjafarik@uoguelph.ca

Director-at-Large

Michael Steele, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Animal Biosciences (ABSc)
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
Email: masteele@uoguelph.ca

Eastern Director

Angela Canovas, PhD
Associate Professor
Centre for Genetic Improvement of Livestock
University of Guelph
Department of Animal Biosciences
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
Email: acanovas@uoguelph.ca

Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science

Filippo Miglior, PhD
Chief, Research & Strategic Development, Canadian Dairy Network
Adjunct Professor, University of Guelph
660 Speedvale Avenue West, Suite 102
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1K 1E5
Email: fmiglior@ontariogenomics.ca

Western Director

Nuria Prieto, PhD
Research Scientist
Lacombe Research and Development Centre
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
6000 C & E Trail, Lacombe, Alberta, T4L 1W1
Email: nuria.prietobenavides@agr.gc.ca

Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science

Greg Penner, PhD
Associate Professor, U of S Centennial Enhancement Chair in Ruminant Nutritional Physiology
University of Saskatchewan
6D18 - Agriculture Building
Agriculture Building 51 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada S7N 5A8
Email: greg.penner@usask.ca

CSAS Executive Assistant

Anita Drabyk
Box 674
Pinawa, Manitoba, Canada R0E 1L0
Email: csasorscsa@gmail.com

Consultant Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science

Kees Plazier, PhD
Professor
Department of Animal Science - University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3T 2N2
Email: Kees.Plaizier@umanitoba.ca

 

Western Student Ambassador

Rachel Carey
Department of Animal and Poultry Science
University of Saskatchewan
Room 6D34 Agriculture Building, 51 Campus Drive
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada S7N 5A8
Email: rec730@mail.usask.ca

Eastern Student Ambassador

Heather Hiscock
Department of Food Science
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, ON, Canada
Email: hhiscock@uoguelph.ca

ASAS Staff Support

Membership Manager CSAS/ Associate-Director of Meetings and Membership

Melissa Burnett
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, Illinois, United States 61826-7410
Email: melissab@asas.org

CSAS Website Coordinator/ASAS Chief Operations Officer

Justin Bartlett
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, Illinois, United States 61826-7410
Email: justinb@asas.org

Become a CSAS Member!

Membership is open to persons currently or previously employed in research, teaching, administration, extension, production, marketing, or otherwise interested in any field pertaining to the animal industry. There are three categories for membership including regular members, retired members, and student members (undergraduate or graduate). Student applicants must complete the education profile when signing up. 

Learn More

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below