Executive

New CSAS logo

Executive

President

Christine Baes, PhD
Assistant Professor
Semex - Canadian Dairy Network (CDN) -
Holstein Canada Professorship in Dairy Genomics
Centre for Genetic Improvement of Livestock
Department of Animal Biosciences | University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East, Building 70, Room 124
Guelph, ON, Canada N1G 2W1
T: 519-824-4120 Ext. 53363
Email: cbaes@uoguelph.ca

President-Elect

Flavio Schramm Schenkel, PhD
Professor, Director
Centre for Genetic Improvement of Livestock
Dairy Cattle Genetics and Genomics
University of Guelph
Department of Animal Biosciences - Room 121
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, ON, Canada N1G 2W1
T: 819-824-4120 Ext. 58650
Email: schenkel@uoguelph.ca

Vice-President

Ronaldo Cerri, PhD
Associate Professor, Director
University of British Columbia
UBC Dairy Education and Research Centre
MacMillian 185, 2537 Main Mail
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z4
T:604-822-5056
Email: ronaldo.cerri@ubc.ca

Past-President

Eveline Ibeagha-Awemu, PhD
Research Scientist
Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada
Dairy and Swine Research and Development Centre
2000 rue College
Sherbrooke, Quebec J1M 0C8
T: 819.780.7249
F: 819.564.5507
Email: eveline.ibeagha-awemu@agr.gc.ca

Secretary/Treasurer

Mohsen Jafarikia, PhD
Geneticist, Research & Development, Canadian Centre for Swine Improvement Inc.
Adjunct Professor, Department of Animal Biosciences
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East, Guelph ON Canada, N1G 2W1
T: 613-627-0738
F: 613-233-8903
Email: mjafarik@uoguelph.ca

Eastern Director

Younes Miar, PhD
Assistant Professor and Industry Research Chair in Mink Genomics, Animal Breeding and Genomics
Department of Animal Science and Aquaculture
Dalhousie University
PO Box 550
Truro, NS, Canada, B2N 5E3
T: 902-893-6165
Email: miar@dal.ca

Western Director

Anne Laarman, PhD
Assistant Professor
Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sci - Ag, Food & Nutri Sci Dept
University of Alberta
116 St. and 85 Ave.
Edmonton, AB, Canada T6G 2R3
T:
Email: anne.laarman@ualberta.ca

Western Student Ambassador

Cameron Olson

Grad Research Asst. Fellowship
Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sci - Ag, Food & Nutri Sci Dept.
University of Alberta
116 St. and 85 Ave.
Edmonton, AB, Canada T6G 2R3
Email: cameron.olson@ualberta.ca

Membership Manager CSAS/ Associate-Director of Meetings and Membership

Melissa Burnett
American Society of Animal Science
 PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826-7410
T: 217-356-9050
F: 217-568-6070
Email: melissab@asas.org

Membership Committee Chair

Katie Wood, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Animal Biosciences (ABSc)
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
T: 519-824-4120, Ext. 53695
Email: kwood@uoguelph.ca

Awards Committee Chair

Dan Columbus, PhD
Research Scientist, Nutrition
Prairie Swine Centre
Box 21057, 2105-8th St. E.
Saskatoon, SK. S7H 5N9
T: 306-373-9922
Email: dan.columbus@usask.ca

Director-At-Large (Industry Rep)

Leslie McKnight, PhD
Trouw Nutrition/Nutreco
150 Research Lane, Suite 200
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 4T2
T: 519-823-7050
Email: leslie.mcknight@trouwnutrition.com

Director-At-Large

Greg Penner, PhD
Associate Professor, U of S Centennial Enhancement Chair in Ruminant Nutritional Physiology
University of Saskatchewan
6D18 - Agriculture Building
Agriculture Building 51 Campus Drive Saskatoon SK S7N 5A8
T: 306-966-4219
Email: greg.penner@usask.ca

Michael Steele, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Animal Biosciences (ABSc),
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
T: (519) 824-4120 ext. 52209
Email: masteele@uoguelph.ca

Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science

Filippo Miglior, PhD
Chief, Research & Strategic Development, Canadian Dairy Network
Adjunct Professor, University of Guelph
660 Speedvale Avenue West, Suite 102
Guelph, ON, Canada N1K 1E5
T: 519-767-9660 Ext. 107
F: 519-767-6768
Email: fmiglior@ontariogenomics.ca

Consultant Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Animal Science 

Kees Plazier, PhD
Professor
Department of Animal Science - University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB Canada R3t 2N2
T: 204-474-9500
F: 204-474-7628
Email: Kees.Plaizier@umanitoba.ca

CSAS Executive Assistant

Anita Drabyk
4 Byng Crescent
Pinawa, Manitoba R0E 1L0
T: 204.205.0297
F: 204.753.2915
Email: drabykra@mymts.net

Eastern Student Ambassador

Michaela Lièvre

M.Sc. (Thesis) Student
Department of Animal Biosciences (ABSc),
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 2W1
Email: mlievre@uoguelph.ca

CSAS Website Coordinator/ASAS Director of Programming and Operations

Justin Bartlett
American Society of Animal Science
PO Box 7410
Champaign, IL 61826
T: 217.668.8350
F: 217.568.6070
Email: justinb@asas.org

Become a CSAS Member!

Membership is open to persons currently or previously employed in research, teaching, administration, extension, production, marketing, or otherwise interested in any field pertaining to the animal industry. There are three categories for membership including regular members, retired members, and student members (undergraduate or graduate). Student applicants must complete the education profile when signing up. 

Learn More

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below