2018 ASAS/ADSA Midwest Award Winners

Animal Science Young Scholars

Martin Overholt, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Gloria Casas-Bedoya, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Bailey Harsh, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Divek Nair, University of Minnesota

Amy Desaulniers, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

F. Henry Hilscher, Jr., University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Shelby Curry, Iowa State University

Roger Cochrane, Kansas State University

Outstanding Early Career Agribusiness Award

Dr. Jon Bergstrom, DSM Nutritional Products

Dr. Jon Bergstrom has a rich history in serving animal agriculture and his country. After completing his B.S. at Iowa State University, Jon worked on a swine farm before returning to school to obtain his M.S. degree. Between his M.S. and Ph.D. at Kansas State University, he worked for Seaboard Foods and Kerber Milling in research and technical service roles. During this time, Jon was also active in the Marine Corp and Army Reserves. Since completing his PhD in 2011, Dr. Bergstrom has been Technical Support Manager and Market Development Manager for DSM Nutritional Products. Jon is responsible for increasing DSM’s visibility and expertise in vitamins, carotenoids, feed enzymes, probiotics, essential oil compounds, and dietary acidifiers. The combination of work and education history has allowed Dr. Bergstrom to bring a high level of relevance and impact to his work. Jon’s family resides in Marshall, MO where he enjoys watching his son, Brett, grow through 4-H livestock involvement.

Outstanding Extension Specialist Award

Dr. Luís Mendonça, Kansas State University

Dr. Luís Mendonça received a D.V.M degree in 2006 at Universidade Estadual de Maringá, Brazil. In 2007 he worked in a private practice across various states of Brazil and in Bolivia. In 2008 he was hired as a postgraduate researcher at the Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center in Tulare, CA, where he worked in large dairy operations and was involved in dairy production research. He obtained his M.S. degree and completed his residency in Dairy Production Medicine (2012) at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Mendonça joined the Department of Animal Sciences and Industry at K-State in 2013 as a State Dairy Extension Specialist and has a 30% research and 70% extension appointment. His current roles and responsibilities include development of an extension and research program addressing issues facing the Kansas and U.S. dairy industry. His goal is to develop and carry out research related to immune function, health, heat abatement and reproductive management of dairy cattle.

Outstanding Young Researcher Award

Dr. Yuan H. “Brad” Kim, Purdue University

Dr. Brad Kim is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Animal Sciences at Purdue University. He received his M.S. from Kansas State University, and PhD from Texas A&M University specialized in fundamental myoglobin chemistry and meat processing. After his postdoc training at Iowa State University, he worked at AgResearch, New Zealand as a Senior Research Scientist.

Dr. Kim leads the Meat Science and Muscle Biology research program at Purdue University, focusing on identifying key biochemical mechanisms governing meat quality and developing systematic post-harvest strategies to improve meat quality attributes. Dr. Kim has published numerous articles including 48 peer-reviewed articles, 4 book chapters, 2 patents, 18 proceedings and 50 abstracts. Dr. Kim has been successful acquiring research grants over $1.5 million as a PI, including his recent USDA-NIFA AFRI award. Dr. Kim has been appointed to an Honorary Scientist and Advisor of the National Institute of Animal Science, Korea.

Outstanding Young Teacher Award

Dr. Anna Dilger, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Anna Dilger is an Associate Professor in Animal Sciences at the University of Illinois. Since her initial appointment in 2010, Dr. Dilger has taught introductory and advanced courses in Meat Science, Growth and Development and Contemporary Issues in Animal Science. Anna is an engaging and enthusiastic teacher who motivates her students through the use of student-centered activities and innovative assignments. In addition to her superior classroom teaching, she has also re-structured the experiential learning program in her department, is active at the University-level in the area of learning outcome assessment, and is a leader in the College of ACES Teaching and Learning Academy for faculty and staff. Dr. Dilger is consistently recognized as an excellent teacher by her students, her peers, the College of ACES at Illinois, and other external groups and is deserving of recognition as a Midwest ASAS/ADSA Outstanding Young Teacher.

Stahly/Peo Outstanding Swine Nutrition Midwest Graduate Student Award

Ms. Gloria Casas-Bedoya, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Gloria A. Casas is a PhD student in the Stein Monogastric Nutrition Laboratory at the University of Illinois. She is from Bogota, Colombia, where she received a degree in Veterinary Medicine from the National University of Colombia. Following graduation, she worked for 4 years for a pork company before returning to the National University as an assistant and later an associate professor. In 2014, Ms. Casas was granted a leave of absence to pursue a PhD degree in swine nutrition at the University of Illinois. During her Doctoral research, Gloria has focused on determining the composition and nutritional value of rice co-products when fed to pigs. During the time she has been a PhD student, Gloria has published 11 peer-reviewed articles, 6 research abstracts, and 2 conference proceedings papers. After completion of her PhD dissertation in 2018, Gloria Casas will return to her job as a professor at the National University of Columbia.

Young Dairy Scholars

Tansol Park, The Ohio State University

Jonas de Souza, Michigan State University

Sarah Morrison, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Fernanda Batistel, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Become an ASAS member

Membership is open to individuals, organizations, or firms interested in research and application, instruction, or extension in animal science or associated with the production, processing, marketing, or distribution of livestock and livestock products.

Learn More

Enter your search terms below